The world famous Arditti Quartet are coming to the National Concert Hall this March, bringing their brand of contemporary music to Dublin.

Celebrating their 40th anniversary, the ensemble will be performing two separate concerts at 8pm and at 10pm on Thursday, 6th March, that promise to move and delight audiences with spirited interpretations of early 20th century and contemporary music.

Since 1974, when Irvine Arditti (pictured above) founded the quartet, the group have performed world premiers of music from composers such as Birtwistle, Dufourt and Adés and will launch the New Music Dublin festival with this concert, curated by composer Donnacha Dennehy.

The New Music Dublin festival, which began last year, runs from March 6th to 9th and is a celebration of modern music. It is run by the Arts Council, the RTÉ orchestras, the National Concert Hall and the Contemporary Music Centre.

New Music Dublin Festival 2014
The 8pm concert will feature music from G.F. Haas, Hans Abrahamsen and Iannis Xenakis, and at 10pm the quartet will perform a second concert, entitled Night Music which will be performed completely in the dark with the musicians sitting far apart from each other.

The musicians will be unable to see their instruments, their music or each other. This daring and imaginative concert is the work of Georg-Friedrich Haas, one of the leading composers in Europe, whose third string quartet “In iij Noct” experiments with the theme of darkness and performing in the dark.

Both concerts are performed at the National Concert Hall by Adritti Quartet on March 6th. The first concert begins at 8pm and the second, Night Music concert is at 10pm. Tickets are €20 for each concert and may be booked by calling the box office at +353 (0) 1 417 0000 or by visiting the NCH website.

National Concert Hall
Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2

Tel: 01 417 0000

Check in here on foursquare

Lead image Irvine Arditti © All Rights Reserved hcmf// on Flickr


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to offer you the best experience online. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the use of cookies.